top of page
Search by Tags

Aderkeroi Wins Ngardmau Governorship

With 55 percent of the vote counted, Blesoch Aderkeroi appears to have won the Ngardmau State gubernatorial race in Palau that was held yesterday. A total of 239 out of 431 have been counted with absentee ballots to be counted next week.

Aderkeroi holds a wide lead over incumbent governor Renguul Masahiro with a 140 to 89 votes. The 51 votes margin appears to put Aderkeroi in a comfortable lead with absentee ballots not expected to change the result.

Aderkeroi show of popular support was unexpected as Masahiro topped the 4-way race in the state gubernatorial primary election on 27 September with a 22-vote difference over Aderkeroi, with many expecting the incumbent governor to win a second-term in office.

In the election for the 9-member legislature, the results indicate that a majority of the incoming legislators will be new with six new members.

The following is the result of the top nine candidates for the legislature: 1) Terence Miozawa – 191; 2) Akiko Beketaut Udui – 140; 3) Florencio I. Ngiraiwet – 131; 4) Masao Sabo Esebei – 130; 5) Diana Smau – 123; 6) Gibson Towai – 110; 7) Johnny J. Tudong – 108; 8) Willard Kumangai – 103; and Naomi I. Ngirakamerang – 87.

In 10th place is Gibbons Masahiro – 77; 11) write-in candidate Kinziro Kloulubak 72; 12) Norman Aderkeroi 65, and 13) write-in candidate Joshua Bukringang – 63. The more than two-dozen absentee votes won’t make any difference on the remaining candidates.

The results of this Ngardmau 9th General Election is still unofficial.

Search by Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Who's Behind The Blog
bottom of page